Canon Text
Canon 1009.
Previous Next
§1 The orders are the episcopate, the priesthood and the diaconate.

§2 They are conferred by the imposition of hands and the prayer of consecration which the liturgical books prescribe for each grade.

§3 Those who are constituted in the order of the episcopate or the presbyterate receive the mission and capacity to act in the person of Christ the Head, whereas deacons are empowered to serve the People of God in the ministries of the liturgy, the word and charity.
[new paragraph added by m.p. Omnium in mentem, 26.X.2009]

Page generated in 0.0024 seconds.

Website code © 2020 (MIT License). Version 2.7.2 FAQ
Scroll to top