Canon Text
Canon 1246.
Previous Next
§1 The Lord’s Day, on which the paschal mystery is celebrated, is by apostolic tradition to be observed in the universal Church as the primary holyday of obligation. In the same way the following holydays are to be observed: the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, the Epiphany, the Ascension of Christ, the feast of the
Body and Blood of Christ, the feast of Mary the Mother of God, her Immaculate
Conception, her Assumption, the feast of St Joseph, the feast of the Apostles SS
Peter and Paul, and the feast of All Saints.

§2 However, the Episcopal Conference may, with the prior approval of the Apostolic
See, suppress certain holydays of obligation or transfer them to a Sunday.

Page generated in 0.0021 seconds.

Website code © 2020 (MIT License). Version 2.7.2 FAQ
Scroll to top